March 18, 2017

INSTALLATION UPDATE: timeline-wise im slowly getting fucked over

screen-shot-2017-03-04-at-8-55-33-pm

 

  • im fucking up with the 15 poems

like wow one poem took me two days to finish AND IM STILL REVISING IT TO THIS VERY DAY BEFORE SENDING IT OVER TO MY FRIENDS FOR CRITIQUES SMH

It’s Saturday now. I currently have 4 long ass poems. I’m thinking of lessening the number from 15 to like… 5 HAHAHA but seriously. From 14 Stations + 1 introductory prayer, to the holy number of 5. A lot of sites discussing biblical numerology describes 5 as a holy number. 5 is the number of grace (which I remember from Theo 121 is God’s own life shared to us; and which biblestudy.org defines as “the disposition of undeserved generosity that a giver has when giving a gift to another person (the receiver)” .

The 10 Commandments are two sets of 5 commandments, with the first 5 detailing an individual’s relationship with God, and the next 5 detailing an individual’s relationship with his fellowmen.

 

  • The Church of the Gesu is yet to respond to my request.

I totally scrapped the idea of the church at UP. My professor encouraged me to think of other spaces that can be used for the installation, and I kind of have one in mind already. There is a garden in between Gonzaga chapel and Berchmann’s Hall inside the Ateneo. 15 poems wouldn’t really work anymore given the time constraints and the smaller space (if I were to pull through with the garden). But 5 poems would work just fine.

 

  • I don’t have actors to play the role of clergymen yet.

No one ??? is responding to my open call ??? I lowkey didn’t expect this I thought people would jump in on the idea of possibly getting free food. If worse comes to worst, I think I’ll have to scrap the idea of needing clergymen altogether, or of having a physical installation altogether ??? (i still have to consult my professor about this, but as I’m writing this I’m honestly starting to consider it.)

What do I get out of using a holy place? The subversion of a preconditioned disposition. Without the use of a physical space, can I still achieve this effect?

What if I achieve the illusion of space through audio manipulation? The recording of the poem will still be there, but maybe I could edit in the ambience of a church or a garden or anything??? The disposition of a sacred space would still be established, but it would only be an illusion. This illusion will then, in turn, be shattered upon hearing the poem.

 


Timeline-wise I’m getting fucked over but WOW LOOK AT THOSE IDEAS ???? 

this past week was fruitful too tho!!! Like I have an Instagram account now (@itaymeup) which yall can follow! I have 4 poems so far which I’m lowkey really proud of. My mom knows places nearby that can publish and bind physical copies of the poems for relatively low prices.

I’ll post some pics down here from my IG account to show yall that I haven’t been bumming around lmao

 

17352709_1423283587712796_957887871_n17392737_1423286501045838_1810711240_n17392992_1423283287712826_1830964147_n

2 thoughts on “March 18, 2017

  1. If the people doing the performance won’t work bc no one is responding to the call, what if you do a kind of tour? Guided tour? Map-guided tour? I’m still trying to think of ways to get around having people “administer” the poems.

    Like

    1. Hi, sir! When you mean by “tour”, as in the poems would be distributed throughout the campus? Or just whatever space I’d be able to reserve?

      Also on Wednesday, can I discuss with you another possible “installation” idea?

      Thank you!

      Like

Leave a Reply

